Small Changes ( week 1 )

I have always been an ‘all or nothing’ kind of girl. Plagued by monomania.  Anything I have ever done, I have poured heart and soul in to but you might also say that I could never walk and chew gum at the same time.  The same is true for any of my  fitness quests.  I am easily lost in distraction.  Therein lies the problem.  Look where it has gotten me.

So this time, I decided  ( well over a year ago ) to try something new.  See what I mean?  I’ve been trying to eek out the time to make myself a priority for quite some time, but you know as the story goes, life just kept on happening.

Recently though I had an epiphany . Instead of my usual boot camp mentality that  usually gives me immediate and dramatic satisfaction ( but doesn’t last)  I’d break up this undertaking into bite size pieces.  Something much more palatable, and more likely to take.

I mean what the heck.  It’s taken a long time to  get this way, it’s going to take a long time to break those bad habits.

This past week I worked on consuming more water.  Half of my body weight in ounces a day in fact.  I also gave up my nightly bowl of ice cream.  Don’t laugh.  That is a major feat.  I have had a long standing love affair with the stuff.

And all and all, I did amazingly.  I even lost a few lbs.  I certainly feel better and I haven’t been overwhelmed with the usual cravings though I did notice that I have been wanting carbs in absence  of the ice cream.

NOTE to SELF :  Be careful with that.  Oddly I don’t even like macaroni and cheese. lol  What’s up with that?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Small Changes ( week 1 )

Leave a comment