My Weightloss Challenge 2016

 

Well Hello!

Here I go, doing exactly what I didn’t want to do. I’m sharing a personal photo. Something I don’t really like to do and for a couple of reasons.  1) is privacy 2) Is the fact that  I am terribly camera shy as if you couldn’t tell . I’d like to say it is solely  because of my obvious weight issue but it really goes much deeper than that. You see, I grew up with a camera in my face, and I hated it then, almost as much as I do now.  There was something  almost pathological about my mom’s candid photography obsession.  It was almost as if our family had their own personal paparazzi.  I only mention it because it was something that always made me feel really uncomfortable, as a kid.  Just a thought!  Perhaps that is one of the reasons I never felt quite right in my own skin.

christmas2015

So now let me get back to the real reason for this post.  HA!

If you read my About page,  I mentioned that I am presently struggling with a weight issue, (among other things) at least in part associated with this midlife thing. Ten years ago, it would have been no big deal. I would have simply gotten back on program as I call it.

Unfortunately now though, years of yo-yo dieting, coupled with a slowing ( errrr TRASHED) metabolism has REALLY taken a toll on me . To the tune of one hundred extra pounds that I am carrying around on my 5’7” frame.

Yep! I am obese!  There I said it aloud .   According to the experts, morbidly so, though I have been quite lucky so far, having not yet suffered any major medical consequence.

So… my goal in 2016,  is to get most of that weight off and get back to the business of living WHOLELY!

That being said, stay tuned.  The idea here is to share my progress, and to stay accountable in the process.

Who knows maybe,  I’ll even share an after-photo. lol  😉  But, I warn you don’t hold your breath. Kidding!

Leave a comment